Komodo Island : Journey To The Land of The Dragon

March 1st, 2016 | by TheJourneyMagz
Komodo Island : Journey To The Land of The Dragon
Adventure Travel

Komodo island is part of the Lesser Sunda chain of islands and forms part of the Komodo National Park with other islands, Rinca and Padar, Gili Motang and 25 smaller ones, with a total area of 1,733 km² (603 km² of it land). The national park was founded in 1980 in order to protect the Komodo dragon later it was dedicated to protecting other species, including marine species. In 1991 the national park was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site.


Mostly known as Varanus komodoensis, also known as the Komodo monitor a member of the monitor lizard family (Varanidae), it is the largest living species of lizard, growing to a maximum of length 3 meters (9.8 ft) in rare cases and weighing up to around 70 kilograms (150 lb).

Referred to by the residents as the ora, for centuries a local tradition required feeding the dragons by leaving deer parts aAncient taboos also strictly forbid harming the komodos, because the local legend said that the komodo and men share the same ancestry. Which is one of the main reasons that they had survived until now.


Share the infoShare on Google+0Tweet about this on Twitter0Pin on Pinterest0Share on Facebook0Email this to someonePrint this page

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *